Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Helio Castroneves of Brazil became one of history’s few four-time Indy 500 winners on Sunday, at the world’s biggest sporting event since the start of COVID-19.

Stay on top of the latest market trends and economic insights with Axios Markets. Subscribe for free

The big picture: Castroneves, alongside his former mentor Rick Mears, Al Unser Sr., and A.J. Foyt, are the only four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500, per AP. 135,000 fans watched the race in-person, after last year’s race was held without them.

More from Axios: Sign up to get the latest market trends with Axios Markets. Subscribe for free