Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

May 25—HIGH POINT — Six automatic-qualifying conference champions make up the field for a NCAA Division III baseball tournament regional that starts Thursday and could go through Sunday at Truist Point stadium.

High Point is one of eight regional sites for the 48-team double-elimination tournament. The NCAA announced team selections late Sunday night.

Salisbury University of Maryland is the No. 1 seed for the games at Truist Point. Washington and Jefferson College of Pennsylvania is the No. 2 seed, with LaGrange College of Georgia No. 3, Lynchburg College of Virginia No. 4, Birmingham-Southern of Alabama No. 5 and Marymount University of Virginia No. 6.

Salisbury (25-4) is the Coast-to-Coast Conference champion. Washington and Jefferson (36-1) won the Presidents Conference. LaGrange (24-8) took the USA South title. Lynchburg (34-13) won the ODAC; Birmingham-Southern (25-4) the Southern Athletic Association; and Marymount (20-5), the Atlantic East.

Games are scheduled at 10 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 6 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, with Sunday to be announced. Greensboro College is the host school.

The eight regional winners advance to the championship finals June 4-9 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

ASHEBORO — Justin Johnson took the lead in a restart with three laps to go and won the David Saunders Memorial race for the CARS late model stock car tour Saturday night at Caraway Speedway.

Jason Poole charged from third to first on lap 22 and prevailed in a 50-lap race for the track’s Challenge Division. Tyler Bush grabbed the lead on the final lap of a Mini-Stock race, and A.J. Briscoe was the UCAR winner.