Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer
(Photo: Amihan Esports Facebook)

(Photo: Amihan Esports Facebook)

Amihan Esports outlasted Team Secret in an intense best-of-five grand finals to take the championship at the Philippines Pro Gaming Series (PPGL) Summer Series, the Philippine leg of the League of Legends: Wild Rift SEA Icon Series Summer Season, on Sunday (7 June).

Both Amihan Esports and Team Secret dominated the first two rounds of the playoff upper bracket to meet in the upper bracket finals, where Amihan Esports emerged victorious 2-1, to claim the first spot in the grand finals.

Team Secret then defeated Liyab Esports in the lower bracket finals to force a rematch with Amihan Esports for the championship.

Amihan Esports started the finals strong by taking a 22-minute victory with Fiora, Vi, Corki, Xayah, and Janna. However, Team Secret were able to quickly tie up the series after a 19-minute game two with Camille, Olaf, Seraphine, Galio, and Sona.

Team Secret then switched out Olaf for Akali in the pivotal third game of the series to take a 21-minute victory and a commanding 2-1 series lead.

With their backs against the wall, Amihan Esports went with Akali, Vi, Darius, Xayah, and Rakan to win game four in 17 minutes of action and force the finals to a do-or-die game five.

Amihan Esports had all the momentum in the decider, as they swapped out Xayah for Janna and dominated Team Secret in the quickest game of the finals at just 15 minutes to claim the championship.

With their victory, Amihan Esports claimed the grand prize of PH₱400,000 (or over US$8,300) while Team Secret took home PH₱300,000 (or over US$6,200). 

Both squads will also be representing the Philippines in the Summer Super Cup later this month.

The Summer Super Cup is the regional championship tournament of the SEA Icon Series and will be held from 19 to 27 June. 

The event will gather 16 of the best Wild Rift teams from the Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Hong Kong, and Taiwan to determine the first-ever Wild Rift regional champions for Southeast Asia.


Amihan Esports:

Karl “KARLLL” Bautista

Jelson “Jelson” Ayon

Miguel “Mitsura” Gavin

Richard “Demon” Lara

Beaver-Ed “Orthros” Villanueva

Team Secret:

Eleazar “Azar” Salle

Robert “Trebor” Mansilungan

Hera “Tatsurii” Garcia

Caster “Chewy” Dela Cruz

James “Hamezz” Santos

For more esports news updates, visit check out Yahoo Esports Southeast Asia’s Facebook page.

Check out esports videos from Yahoo TV: